Get Started

Introduction

Welcome to the Belfius API Portal, your unique platform for building quality applications and solid digital services using Belfius APIs.

Programming interfaces have become a driving force in the development of businesses in all sectors and all activities throughout the world. More than ever businesses need to be able to quickly create added value and innovate all aspects of their organisation (management, processes, solutions, customer experience, etc.)

Belfius is no exception to this rule. We also do everything we can to provide quality services to our customers and partners. This API portal, intended for developers and partners, is a further step in this direction.

In addition to a getting started guide and detailed documentation, we offer a sandbox environment for testing purposes to help you as much as possible in your work.

API Marketplace

The API Marketplace showcases the different APIs available at Belfius along with a link to the detailed documentation for each API. The APIs have been categorized as:

  • Coming soon These are future APIs, for which, for the time being, only documentation exists.
  • Sandboxed These can be used with a Sandbox environment to simulate calls.
  • Live These are APIs for a production environment which can be used directly from your applications.

Getting Access

Access to Live APIs has different security requirements than access to the sandbox. In both cases, you can fill in the contact form to reach out to us for API access.

If you’ve opted to use Live APIs, you will be contacted to provide further information (e.g. certificates, as all our API’s are secured by the MTLS protocol). After this step you will be provided the required credentials for access to our Live APIs.

Sandbox

Once we have given you the credentials, you will be able to fully use our sandbox environment and access the test data of the available APIs. To make it easier for you to get started and to quickly familiarize yourself with the API, this environment doesn’t require certificates or authentication. You still need to fill in the mandatory parameters of the API (values don’t matter) and have valid credentials (which you receive after registering). Please note that the sandboxes return a mocked response and won’t process any actual data.

The sandbox currently only supports the following calls:

  • PSD AIS (Account Information Services) to view an account’s balance and transaction history
  • PSD2 PIS (Payment Initiation Service) to issue a SEPA payment order
  • Sandbox base path: https://sandbox.api.belfius.be:8443/sandbox/psd2

PSD2 Specific APIs

Even though the European PS2 directive only comes into effect in September 2019, Belfius would already like to propose concrete solutions such as this platform. The APIs present here are, for the time being, exclusively related to this directive.

To facilitate their use, Belfius also provides the following APIs:

  • Consent API: GET /consent-uris API to give a ‘Consent’. A Belfius customer on a Third Party Provider (TPP) application authenticates himself in a secure Belfius environment through redirection.
  • Account APIs (AIS): POST /token to obtain an access token. A TPP application requests an access token and exchanges the previously granted authorisation (OAuth2 token API).

Prerequisites for Live PSD2 APIs:

To use Live APIs, you must meet more conditions than for the sandbox. You need to:

  • be recognised as a TPP – or be in the process of being recognised – by the National Bank of Belgium in the context of PSD2
  • have contacted us to request your identification token
  • have provided the certificates required for Mutual TSL authentication or your eIDAS certificates (QWAC et QSeal)
  • have registered the OAuth2 redirect URLs

Please use this token request form.

Account Information Services (AIS) – PSD2 APIs

In the Belfius context, PSD2 AIS APIs provide Belfius customers the possibility to view their account balances and transaction history on a TPP application. PSD2 AIS APIs require the explicit authorisation of the customer, which has been implemented through OAuth2.

The TPP application then can obtain an access token and a refresh token, which will allow it to access the customer’s data.

1) Obtaining authorisation and retrieving tokens

• GET /consent-uris
• POST /token

First an API (GET /consent-uris) starts the authorisation flow, which returns an authorisation code associated with the TPP’s provided redirect URL. This authorisation code can then be used in a second API (POST /token) to obtain an access token and a refresh token, which are required in the AIS PSD2 APIs.

The steps are as follows:

  1. A Belfius customer on a TPP application initiates this authorisation flow by specifying the required information. Once the flow has started, the TPP application calls the /consent-uris API and passes on its specified parameters. This communication is secured using Mutual TLS or eIDAS certificates. Belfius responds with the URL(s) to redirect to customer to the secure Belfius environment (web, tablet or mobile).
  2. The TPP directs the customer to one of these environments using the right URL.
  3. The customer authenticates himself in this environment and grants the TPP access.
  4. The customer is redirected to the TPP application, which receives an authorisation code.
  5. The TPP application then exchanges this authorisation code for an access token, a refresh token and an identifier (logical-id), using the token endpoint. Once the TPP has received the access token, it can then be used in all AIS requests. Note that if an access token expires, the TPP can get a new one by recalling the token endpoint and providing the refresh token as a parameter.

2) Viewing the details and balances of a customer’s current account

• GET /accounts/{logical-id}

This API allows a Belfius customer to view his account details and its associated balances within a TPP application. The prerequisite is that the TPP has a valid access token and an identifier (logical-id).

The steps are as follows:

  1. When a customer would like to view his balances, the TPP calls this API and provides its specified parameters along with the earlier received access token. This communication is secured using Mutual TLS or eIDAS certificates. If all the provided information is valid, Belfius responds with the account details and its associated balances.

3) Retrieving a customer current account’s transaction history

• GET /accounts/{logical-id}/transactions

A customer can view the transaction history of his Belfius current account. The prerequisite is that the TPP has both a valid access token and an identifier (logical-id).

The steps are as follows:

  1. When a customer would like to view his transactions, the TPP calls this API and provides its specified parameters along with the earlier received access token. This communication is secured using Mutual TLS or eIDAS certificates. If all the provided details are valid, Belfius responds with the current account’s transactions.

4) Renewing the authorisation for access to the current account

In accordance with PSD2 specifications, consent has to be renewed every 90 days.

The steps are as follows:

  1. When a customer would like to view his transaction history, the TPP calls this API and provides its specified parameters along with the earlier received access token. In some cases the access authorisation needs to be renewed. The API responds with the appropriate error message, indicating this to the TPP.
  2. The TPP receives a redirect URL to which it needs to add the required ‘state’. The customer then needs to be directed to the Belfius environment.
  3. The customer authenticates himself in the Belfius environment and grants new access to the TPP.
  4. The customer returns to the TPP application.
  5. Now, the TPP retries the original request (GET /accounts/{logical-id}/transactions) by transmitting the access token. Belfius responds successfully by providing the transaction history of the specified current account.

Payment initiation services (PIS) – PSD2 APIs

In the Belfius context, PSD2 PIS APIs provide Belfius customers the possibility to initiate a SEPA payment using their account on a TPP application. As soon as the payment has been made and signed, the TPP application receives an authorisation code if an access token wasn’t provided at the start of the process. This TPP application can then use this authorisation code to get an access token and a refresh token which can then be used for future payment initiations.

1) Initiating and signing a payment

• POST /payments/sepa-credit-transfer

A Belfius customer can initiate a SEPA payment in the TPP application.

The steps are as follows:

  1. When a customer would like to initiate a SEPA payment in a TPP application, the TPP calls this API and provides its specified parameters. In some cases the access authorisation needs to be renewed. The API responds with the appropriate error message.
  2. If the TPP has the required access authorisations, the API responds with either:
    • a message indicating that the payment has been successfully initiated
    • a message indicating the payment initiation requires a signature. In this case, the TPP application also receives a URL in ‘Location header’
  3. The TPP redirects the customer to the URL mentioned in the answer above and adds the required ‘state’. The customer is redirected to the Belfius environment.
  4. 4The client authenticates himself and signs the payment.
  5. Belfius generates an authorisation code.
  6. The customer is again redirected to the TPP application, thus transmitting the authorisation code and the ‘state’ in the redirect URL.

Now the TPP can exchange this authorisation code for an access token and a refresh token using the /token endpoint. This newly acquired access token can then be used for future payments. When a valid access token has been inputted, no authorisation code will be provided in the redirect URL in future calls.

Démarrer

Introduction

Bienvenue sur l’API Portal de Belfius, votre plateforme unique pour le soutien à la création d’applications et de services digitaux de qualité utilisant les APIs de Belfius.

Les interfaces de programmation sont devenues aujourd’hui un vecteur incontournable de développement pour les entreprises de tous les secteurs, de toutes les activités et dans le monde entier. Celles-ci doivent en effet, plus que jamais, pouvoir rapidement créer de la valeur ajoutée et innover dans tous les aspects de leur organisation (gestion, processus, solutions, expérience clients…).

Belfius n'échappe pas à cette règle. Aussi, nous mettons tout en œuvre pour fournir des services de qualité à nos clients et à nos partenaires. Ce portail regroupant nos APIs, et destiné aux développeurs et partenaires, constitue un pas supplémentaire dans cette voie.

En plus d’un guide de démarrage et de documentations détaillées, nous proposons un environnement sandbox à des fins de test pour vous aider à faciliter votre travail au maximum.

API Marketplace

L’API Marketplace présente les différentes APIs disponibles chez Belfius, ainsi qu’un lien vers la documentation détaillée de ces APIs. Chaque API a été classée comme suit:

  • Coming soon: il s’agit d’APIs à venir pour lesquelles il n’existe pour l’instant que de la documentation.
  • Sandbox: il s’agit d’APIs pouvant être utilisées dans un environnement sandbox pour simuler des appels.
  • Live: il s’agit des APIs pour environnement de production pouvant être utilisées directement à partir de vos applications.

Accès

Les exigences de sécurité pour accéder aux APIs Live et aux sandbox ne sont pas les mêmes. Dans les deux cas, vous pouvez remplir le formulaire de contact pour vous mettre en rapport avec nous en vue d’accéder à nos APIs.

Si vous avez choisi d’utiliser aussi des APIs Live, vous serez contacté afin de nous fournir des informations supplémentaires (par exemple des certificats puisque toutes nos APIs sont sécurisées par le protocole MTLS). Dès l’achèvement de cette étape, vous recevrez les informations d’identification requises pour vous permettre d’accéder à nos APIs Live.

Sandbox

Lorsque nous vous aurons fourni les informations d’identification, vous pourrez utiliser pleinement notre environnement sandbox et accéder aux données de test des APIs disponibles. Cet environnement ne nécessite ni certificats ni authentification, et ce, afin de faciliter vos premiers pas et de vous familiariser rapidement avec l’API. Vous devez toutefois toujours fournir les paramètres obligatoires de l’API (les valeurs n’ont pas d’importance ) et une clé API valide (reçue après l’enregistrement). Veuillez noter que les sandbox renvoient une réponse fictive/indéterminée et ne prévoient nullement le traitement des données réelles.

La sandbox prend actuellement les appels suivants en charge:

  • AIS (Account information Services) PSD2 pour consulter le solde et l’historique des transactions sur un compte
  • PIS (Payment initiation services) PSD2 pour émettre un ordre de paiement SEPA
  • Sandbox base path: https://sandbox.api.belfius.be:8443/sandbox/psd2

API spécifiques à la directive PSD2

Malgré le fait que la directive européenne PSD2 ne rentre en application qu’en septembre 2019, Belfius a la volonté de déjà proposer des solutions concrètes, comme cette plateforme. Les APIs présentes ici sont, pour le moment exclusivement liées à cette directive.

Pour faciliter leur utilisation, Belfius fournit en outre les APIs suivantes:

  • «Consent»: le client Belfius utilisant l’application d’un fournisseur tiers (Third Party Provider ou TPP) s’authentifie dans un environnement Belfius sécurisé au moyen d’une redirection. Obtention d’un access token: l’application d’un TPP demande un access token et échange l’autorisation accordée antérieurement (API de token OAuth2).

Conditions préalables pour les API PSD2 Live

Contrairement à la sandbox, pour utiliser ces APIs Live, vous devez remplir les conditions suivantes:

  • être reconnu comme TPP – ou en cours de reconnaissance – par la Banque Nationale de Belgique dans le cadre de PSD2
  • nous avoir contacté pour demander votre token d’identification
  • avoir fourni les certificats requis pour l’authentification Mutual TLS ou vos certificats eIDAS (QWAC, et QSeal)
  • avoir enregistré les URL de redirection OAuth2

Veuillez utiliser ce formulaire de demande de token.

Account Information Services (AIS) - PSD2 APIs

Pour Belfius, les APIs AIS PSD2 offrent au client la possibilité de consulter le solde de ses comptes à vue et l’historique des transactions via l’application d’un TPP. Les APIs AIS PSD2 nécessitent l’autorisation explicite du client, ce qui a été mis en œuvre à l’aide de l’autorisation OAuth2. L’application du TPP peut ensuite obtenir un access token et un refresh token. Ce qui permettra au TPP d’accéder aux données du client.

1) Obtention de l’autorisation et récupération des tokens

• GET /consent-uris
• POST /token

Tout d’abord, une API (GET /consent-uris) lance le flux d’autorisation, qui renvoie un code associé à l’URL de redirection fournie par le TPP. Ce code d’autorisation peut ensuite être utilisé dans une deuxième API (POST /token) pour obtenir un access token et un refresh token requis dans les APIs AIS PSD2. Les étapes sont les suivantes:

  1. Un client Belfius amorce ce processus d’autorisation sur une application fournie par un TPP en précisant les informations requises. Une fois le flux amorcé, l’application du TPP appelle l’API/consent-uris et transmet les paramètres attendus selon les spécifications de cette API. Notez que cette communication est sécurisée par une authentification Mutual TLS ou par l’usage de certificats eIDAS. Belfius fournit en retour la ou les url permettant de rediriger le client vers un environnement sécurisé Belfius (Web, tablette ou mobile).
  2. Le TPP utilise l’une de ces URL pour diriger le client vers un de ces environnements.
  3. Le client s’authentifie dans cet environnement et autorise l’accès au TPP.
  4. Le client revient vers l’application du TPP, celui-ci reçoit un code d’autorisation.
  5. En utilisant le token endpoint, l’application du TPP échange alors ce code d’autorisation contre un access token, un refresh token et un identifiant (logical-id). Dès que le TPP a reçu l’access token, celui-ci peut ensuite être utilisé dans toutes les requêtes AIS. Notez qu’en cas d’expiration d’un access token, le TPP peut en obtenir un nouveau en rappelant le token endpoint avec le refresh token en paramètre.

2) Consultation des données du compte à vue du client et des soldes y afférents

• GET /accounts/{logical-id}

Cette API permet au client Belfius de consulter les données de son compte à vue et les soldes y afférents au sein d’une application d’un TPP. La condition préalable est que ce dernier dispose d’un access token valide et d’un identifiant (logical-id). Les étapes sont les suivantes:

Lorsque que le client souhaite consulter ses soldes, le TPP appelle cette API et transmet les paramètres attendus selon ses spécifications et l’access token reçu antérieurement. Cette communication est sécurisée par Mutual TLS ou par l’usage de certificats eIDAS. Si toutes les informations fournies sont valides, Belfius répond en fournissant les données du compte à vue et les soldes y afférents.

3) Consultation de l’historique des transactions du compte à vue du client

• GET /accounts/{logical-id}/transactions

Le client peut consulter l’historique des transactions de son compte à vue Belfius. La condition préalable est que le TPP dispose d’un access token valide et d’un identifiant (logical-id). Les étapes sont les suivantes:

  1. Lorsque que le client souhaite consulter ses transactions, le TPP appelle cette API et transmet les paramètres attendus selon ses spécifications et l’access token reçu antérieurement. Cette communication est sécurisée par Mutual TLS ou par l’usage de certificats eIDAS. Si toutes les informations fournies sont valides, Belfius répond en fournissant les transactions du compte à vue.

4) Renouvellement de l’autorisation d’accès au compte à vue.

Conformément aux spécifications PSD2, l’autorisation d’accès peut être renouvelée tous les 90 jours. Les étapes sont les suivantes:

  1. Lorsque que le client souhaite consulter l’historique de ses transactions, le TPP appelle cette API et transmet les paramètres attendus selon ses spécifications et l’access token reçu antérieurement. Dans certains cas, l’autorisation d’accès doit être renouvelée. L’API répondra par un message d’erreur approprié qui indique au TPP que l’autorisation doit être renouvelée.
  2. Le TPP reçoit une url de redirection à laquelle il devra ajouter le «state» requis. Le client doit ensuite être redirigé vers l’environnement Belfius.
  3. Le client s’authentifie dans l’environnement Belfius et accorde un nouvel accès au TPP.
  4. Le client revient à nouveau vers l’application du TPP.
  5. À présent, le TPP réessaie la requête originale (GET /accounts/{logical-id}/transactions), en transmettant l’access token. Belfius répond avec succès en fournissant l’historique des transactions du compte à vue indiqué.

Payment initiation services (PIS) - PSD2 APIs

Dans le contexte de Belfius, les APIs PIS PSD2 offrent au client Belfius la possibilité d’émettre un ordre de paiement SEPA grâce à son compte sur l’application d’un TPP. Une fois le paiement effectué et signé, l’application du TPP reçoit un code d’autorisation si aucun access token n’a été fourni au début de la procédure. Cette application du TPP peut ensuite utiliser ce code d’autorisation pour obtenir un access token & un refresh token qui pourront être utilisés lors de futures initiations de paiement.

1) Initiation de paiement et signature

• POST /payments/sepa-credit-transfer

Un client Belfius peut initier un paiement SEPA sur l’application TPP. Les étapes sont les suivantes:

  1. Lorsque que le client souhaite initier un paiement SEPA à partir de l’application d’un TPP. Celui-ci appelle cette API et transmet les paramètres attendus selon ses spécifications. Dans certains cas, le renouvellement de l’autorisation d’accès peut être exigée. L’API répondra par un message d’erreur approprié.
  2. Si le TPP a les autorisations d’accès requises, l’API répondra soit:
    • par un message qui indique que l’initiation du paiement est réussie
    • par un message qui indique que l’initiation du paiement requiert une signature. Dans le second cas, l’application du TPP reçoit également une URL dans «Location header»
  3. Le TPP redirige le client vers l’URL mentionnée dans la réponse ci-dessus et ajoute le «state» requis. Le client est redirigé vers l’environnement Belfius.
  4. Le client s’authentifie et signe le paiement.
  5. Belfius génère un code d’autorisation.
  6. Le client est redirigé à nouveau vers l’application du TPP, transmettant ainsi le code d’autorisation et le «state» dans l’URL de redirection.

À présent, le TPP peut échanger ce code d’autorisation contre un access token & refresh token en utilisant l’token endpoint. L’access token nouvellement acquis peut ensuite être utilisé pour des paiements ultérieurs. Le fait d’avoir un access token valide en entrée ne fournira pas d’autre code d’autorisation dans l’URL de redirection lors de futurs appels.